About PPP
History of PPP
PPP Leaders
PPP's Position Paper on Inclusive Governance
Guyana History Notebook
President Speeches
13th Year of PPP Government
Formation of WPO
PPP 28th Congress
Contact us












Founder Leader of the PPP -
Dr. Cheddi Jagan
President of Guyana
H.E Bharrat Jagdeo
General Secretary of the PPP
Donald Ramotar






The People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) wishes to alert the Guyanese public and the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) of the PNCR’s scheme of making large objections to persons on the preliminary list of electors (PLE) without any basis.

Already, there have a series of multi-objections filed by known PNCR activists across the country. And within 24 hours, the PPP/C has been able to locate a significant number of these persons whom that party claims cannot be found. For example, two of persons objected to are the children of PPP Central Committee Member Cyril Belgrave.

It must be recalled that in the 2001 elections, the PNCR had made a mass objection amounting to 40,000 names in areas which the PPP/C receives its support. It now seems that this is being repeated.

The PNCR knows that there are no legitimate grounds for the current spate of multiple objections. Also, the reason for its objection cannot legally remove anyone from the voters’ list. But this exercise is intended to cause delays in GECOM timetable for the holding of elections.

Further, we do expect as the close of the objection period draws nearer, the amount of multi-objections by that party will increase as it seeks to obstruct and frustrate the current elections preparation timetable of the Guyana Elections Commission.

Once the full list of multi-objections by the PNCR is made available, the PPP/C will be making its findings to expose the ruthless and callous efforts of the PNCR to firstly interrupt the current timetable for holding elections and, secondly to disenfranchise eligible voters.

June 07, 2006

Web Site Designed and Maintained by Adrian Ally | Last Updated:
Contact us at: pr@ppp-civic.org, ppp@guyana.net.gy

People's Progressive Party 2003 - 2005