About PPP
History of PPP
PPP Leaders
PPP's Position Paper on Inclusive Governance
Guyana History Notebook
President Speeches
13th Year of PPP Government
Formation of WPO
PPP 28th Congress
Contact us















The Peoples Progressive Party’s Central Committee met on August 12, 2008 for the first time since the 29 th Congress of the Party.

At this meeting elections were held for the positions of General Secretary and the Executive Committee.

Mr. Donald Ramotar was elected unopposed as the Party’s General Secretary.

Members of the Executive Committee who were elected were:

  • Baksh, Ali
  • Chand, Komal
  • Chandrapal, Navin
  • Collymore, Clinton
  • Jagan, Janet
  • Jagdeo, Bharrat
  • Luncheon, Roger
  • Mustapha, Zulfikar
  • Nokta, Harripersaud
  • Persaud, Reepu Daman
  • Persaud, Robert
  • Ramanah, Ulric
  • Ramkarran, Ralph
  • Rohee, Clement
  • Teixeira, Gail

Three members were elected to the position of Candidate Members to Executive Committee. They are: Irfan Ali, Ganga Persaud, and Pauline Sukhai.

The meeting also elected Mrs. Janet Jagan as Editor of “Thunder.” An Editorial Board was also elected. Comrades elected to this board are Donald Ramotar, Ralph Ramkarran, Moses Nagamootoo, Lawrence Rodney, Navin Chandrapal, Hydar Ali, Kellawan Lall, Irfan Ali, Clinton Collymore and Clement Rohee.


Also elected was a new Secretariat which is composed as follows:

General Secretary - Donald Ramotar

Organizing Secretary - Ulric Ramanah

Education Secretary - Hydar Ali

Mass Organization Secretary - Robert Persaud

Public Relations Secretary - Clinton Collymore

Culture & Youth Secretary - Frank Anthony

Finance Secretary - Irfan Ali

Women Affairs Secretary - Indra Chandrapal

International Affairs Secretary - D Seeraj

Trade Union Relation Secretary - Komal Chand

Governance Issues Secretary - Gail Teixeira


The Control’s Commission comprises Navin Chandrapal, Komal Chand and Clinton Collymore.

These bodies will guide the work of the Party until the 30 th Congress.

August 12, 2008

Founder Leader of the PPP -
Dr. Cheddi Jagan
President of Guyana
H.E Bharrat Jagdeo
General Secretary of the PPP
Donald Ramotar


Web Site Designed and Maintained by Anil R. Ramlall| Last Updated:
Contact us at: pr@ppp-civic.org, ppp@guyana.net.gy

People's Progressive Party 2003 - 2008